• The purpose of the competition is to select 3 recording projects to be produced and distributed by DaVinci Publishing.
  • The competition is open to soloists and chamber music groups of any nationality, from solo to sextet, with or without piano.
  • The competition is open to all musicians who are 18 years or older at the time of registration, with a maximum age of 33. In the case of groups of 3 or more musicians, only one member of the group can be older than the age limit.
  • The program presented is free, but must not contain compositions by authors who died after 1952.
  • Previous winners cannot register, but previous participants considered suitable and unsuitable can submit a regular participation request.
  • All applicants must be duly registered through the registration form at the bottom of the page.
  • The request can only be completed online through the following Registration Form, and no request received by other means will be considered valid for the final evaluation.
  • In the case of a chamber formation, the registration of the representative musician is sufficient.
  • The recording locations are chosen by the artistic direction. No changes of location are allowed.
  • All projects are carried out exclusively through technicians and experts indicated by the artistic committee.
  • Da Vinci Publishing provides its own recording space, its own equipment, and its own piano (Steinway & Sons 1953). For special requests, rental instruments, and any costs not expressly listed in this regulation, the costs are borne by the musicians.
  • The recordings will take place at Da Vinci Publishing’s recording space (, located in northern Italy.
  • All travel expenses are borne by the musicians.
  • CVs and concert proposals sent via email and not through the registration form will not be considered. In addition, only the requested material will be considered.
  • If there are any doubts, please contact the email address
  • By submitting the registration form, participants accept the competition regulations.
  • The participation of candidates in the Competition implies unconditional acceptance of these regulations.
  • For any matter mentioned in these regulations, the decision of the President of the Society is final.


In order to participate in the competition, the following fields of the registration form must be completed:

  • Proposal of a discographic program;
  • Youtube/Vimeo link to a video with a performance of minimum 15 minutes and maximum 30 minutes related to the proposed discographic program;
  • Curricula of each musician in the group, with a maximum of 300 words per participant.

The deadline for registration is set for January 15th, 2024 (formerly 15th December 2023). Results will be announced by March 30th, 2024.

For organizational reasons, the Competition Management reserves the right to modify the dates, and any changes will be communicated on the official competition website.

We kindly remind all applicants to comply with the aforementioned requirements, and to submit their applications within the given deadline.


  1. Discographic program

The objective is to demonstrate the group’s ability to create a valid discographic proposal. The program must be submitted as follows:

Composer’s name and surname: Title of the piece (if applicable, arranger) – approximate duration of the piece.


L.W. Beethoven: String Quartet No.12 Op.127 – 24 minutes

G. Verdi: Nabucco (arrangement by Mario Rossi) – 5 minutes

J. Brahms: Quartet for Strings op. 51 no. 2 – 32 minutes

Total 61 minutes

  1. Video

The video recording must be made without the introduction of video effects, without editing, and in particular without audio reverberations or other effects that modify the sound. There must be only one fixed camera, and the hands and faces of the performers must be clearly visible. The soloist/group that applies must be composed of the same people who perform in the submitted video. Changes to the formation are not allowed once the applications have been submitted.

Each musician may participate as a soloist or with different formations, subject to payment of the relevant participation fee for each project they apply with.

The videos must be uploaded to YouTube/Vimeo and must be private. They must have a minimum duration of 15 minutes and a maximum duration of 30 minutes, and must be relevant to the proposed discographic program.

The title and description of the video’s infobox must be structured as follows:

Video Title: DVYS + Ensemble Name (e.g., DVYS Duo Example)

Infobox description: Names of the group members, the instrument played, and all the pieces performed in the video, with an indication of the minute marks where the pieces can be found.

Example for Infobox:

Duo Example

Mario Rossi: violin

Claudia Verdi: piano

0:00-5:00 Brahms: Sonata for Violin No. 1, movement 2

5:10-9:45 Beethoven: Sonata for Violin No. 9, movement 1


The jury will evaluate the quality of the proposed project and carefully review the submitted video.

The proposed program will be evaluated on a scale from 0 to 10 points, taking into account the duration, coherence, originality, and overall quality of the proposal.

The performance will be evaluated on a scale from 0 to 90 points, considering the technical mastery, artistic expression, and cohesion of the group as demonstrated in the submitted video.

In case of a tie, the group with the lower average age will be declared the winner.

The committee reserves the right not to award the prize if the performances and/or proposals do not meet the required artistic standards.

Recording dates for the winning projects will be scheduled within 30 days of the announcement, subject to agreement between the artists and the competent technical staff. Recordings must be completed by December 15, 2024.

The committee reserves the right not to award the prize if the performances and/or submissions do not reach an appropriate artistic level.


  • Edmondo Filippini: President, Founder and Artistic Director of Da Vinci Publishing
  • Gabriele Zanetti: Music Producer and Sound Engineer
  • Chiara Bertoglio: Musicologist and Pianist
  • Marco Sollini (Honorary Member): Artistic Director of Armonie della Sera Concert Series, Pianist, and Composer

Un sito

Blog at